Experience the Difference
    • Photos of the Event

The Emery/Weiner School raised more than $750,000 at its 22nd annual Joy of Education (JOE) Dinner gala, which was held on Thursday, Oct. 20. The gala’s theme was “Family Ties,” and the event boasted more than 475 guests in attendance.
This year’s honoree was Elisha Selzer, parent of two EWS alumni and the school’s first female board president since the merger of I. Weiner Middle School and Emery High School. Of her many notable accomplishments from 2018 to 2020, the school benefitted from Selzer’s leadership during the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey and COVID-19.
“Not only is Elisha exemplary, but she is also dedicated, committed, and tenacious,” said Chairs Vicki and Andy Bursten. “Fortunately for EWS, she brought these qualities to her tenure as president of the board of trustees.”
The JOE Dinner recognizes the honorees and serves as a moment for all in the EWS community to reconnect and celebrate the school. “We are extremely pleased with the success of this year’s event. It was wonderful to be back in the Kosberg Gym surrounded by the Selzer/Sondock family, current parents, parents of alumni, young alumni, grandparents, and many friends from our community,” said Director of Advancement Rebecca Starr. “A heartfelt thank you to everyone who contributed and helped us honor Elisha!”
EWS’ annual gala enables the school to offset more than $1 million each year in tuition assistance. The fundraising also supports faculty development and experiential learning experiences, including school trips.

Contact Us

List of 5 members.

  • Photo of Rebecca Starr

    Ms. Rebecca Starr 

    Director of Advancement
    (832) 204-5900
    San Francisco State University - B.S.
    San Francisco State University - M.S.
  • Photo of Lisa Arrington

    Ms. Lisa Arrington 

    Associate Director of Development
    (832) 204-5900
    University of California, Berkeley - B.A.
  • Photo of Tammy Feldstein

    Ms. Tammy Feldstein 

    Development Associate
    (832) 204-5900
    University of Texas, Austin - B.A.
  • Photo of Lauren West

    Ms. Lauren West 

    Associate Director of Communications
    (832) 204-5900
    University of Tulsa - B.A.
    Louisiana State University - M.M.C.
  • Photo of Melissa Borinski

    Ms. Melissa Borinski 

    Communications Associate
    (832) 204-5900
    University of Georgia - A.B.
    University of South Carolina - M.L.I.S.

The Emery/Weiner School

A private, college-preparatory middle and high school serving grades 6-12. 
Click here for more information.